The June Third Building, formerly called “Graves Hall”, went under way in 1939. The June Third Building is a small, neatly symmetrical two-storey building. The outside of the building is outlined with different tints of red coloursthe red doors, red walls, and red panes, displaying a flavor of modern simplicity. Two iconic chimneys stand symmetrically on the large Chinese roof. On the first floor, there is a balcony with a railing in delicately carved patterns. The prominent features of the June Third Building are symmetry, simplicity, and the absence of redundant curves.


In March, 1951, the Graves Hall was renamed “the June Third Building” in memory of “the June Third Event” in 1925. On May 30, 1925, the “May 30th Massacre” shocked China and the world. On June 1, to mourn the compatriots who had died in this event, the students of St. John’s University demanded from the authorities of the university the permission to strike, to take oaths, to gather to salute the national flag, to sing the national anthem, etc, and were rejected; instead, the university announced a seven-day holiday. The Chinese teachers and students held a meeting and decided to raise the flag at half-mast in the university to pay tribute to the victimized compatriots. In the morning of June 3, the teachers and students raised the flag at half-mast in front of the Low Library and gathered in the main hall. They returned to the flagpole after the meeting, only to find that the national flag had been removed by school officials. Out of patriotism and indignation, the students gathered in the auditorium and bowed three times to the national flag.